net egg's big netegg - Search Engine Marketing, Pay Per Click and Affiliate Marketing specialists - netegg.co.uk


The net egg Search Engine Marketing jargon buster

Are you confused by SEM jargon, this Jargon buster is sure to help!At net egg we know how bad it can be within the online community when it comes to using jargon. Let's face it the industry if rife with it. We have been trawling through the acronyms and have developed a simple learning center which can be used as reference for all the terms, phrases and acronyms associated with search engine marketing activities.

Definition of a 302 Redirect -302 Redirect

302 Redirect is a method of URL redirection. i.e. I feed into a browser a web address which in turn automatically redirects me via a 302 redirect to a different location. This is often used with secondary domain names for a site.
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Definition of a 404 Error Page -404 Error Page

404 Error Page is a protocol that a server uses to automatically generate a error web page when a user requests a page that does not exist.
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Definition of an Action -Action

An Action is something that a webmaster will define which a user performs. Examples may be viewing a page, calling for information, signing up for an offer or submitting details to a web site.
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Definition of an Ad Group -Ad Group

An Ad Group is a collection of similar keywords grouped together by a single ad text.
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Definition of Ad Rank -Ad Rank

The Ad Rank or score determines where a ad text lies within the search engine listings. A high rank would be 1st at the top of the listings, a low rank for example 20 would be on the 2nd-3rd pages of the search engine listings.
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Definition of Ad Text -Ad Text

An Ad Text is the ad that triggers when a keyword within its ad group has been called upon within a search engine.
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Definition of AdWords -AdWords

AdWords is Google's Pay Per Click management interface.
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Definition of Affiliate -Affiliate

An Affiliate is a 3rd party promotion partner that is purely paid on the results that they generate.
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Definition of an Algorithm -Algorithm

Algorithms are used by search engines such as Google, Yahoo or MSN to define your advertising score and position ad rank based on multiple influential factors, such at CTR, Landing Page Quality, CPC and Ad Text.
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Definition of Analytics -Analytics

Analytics is the study of user or web site. behavioral patterns. Invariable an analytics programs will study actual server logs but they can also be configured using page tracking techniques.
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Definition of AOL -AOL

AOL - America On Line is an internet service provider, a web portal and search engine that partners directly with Google.
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Definition of API -API

API - Application Programming Interface is a source code interface that a computer system or program library provides to support requests for services to be made of it by a computer program.<Top of the Page>

Definition of ASCII -ASCII

ASCII - American Standard Code for Information Interchange - is a character encoding based on the English alphabet. ASCII codes represent text in computers, communications equipment, and other devices that work with text.
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Definition of ASP -ASP

ASP - Active Server Pages is Microsoft 's server-side active scripting for dynamically-generated web pages.
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Definition of an ASV -ASV

ASV - Average Sale Value of a web site. is calculated by taking the total revenue generated by the web site and dividing that by the total number of sales.
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Definition of B2B -B2B

B2B - Business to Business, this is in reference to a business communicating to other businesses.
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Definition of B2C -B2C

B2C - Business to Consumers, this is in reference to a business communicating to it's consumers.
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Definition of Banner -Banner

A Banner is a static or dynamic image advert that can be placed upon a publishers web site. Generally a jpeg, gif or mpeg.
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Definition of Best Practice Funding -Best Practice Funding

Best Practice Funding - BPF is Google's way of increasing SEM agency productivity. Based upon the SEM's gross Google sales, Google will give back to the Agency a percentage of their sales every quarter, but only if they comply with strict Google guidelines. Kickbacks vary from 3%-9% dependant on sales volume.
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Definition of Bid Landscape -Bid Landscape

The Bid Landscape is a phrase used to describe the listings that are appearing, the landscape includes the bid prices that the advertisers are bidding to, within a particular field. For example the top advertiser pay a £1, the bottom pays £0.05 the landscape would comprise of these two advertisers and all the others in between.
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Definition of Bid Management Software -Bid Management Software

Bid Management Software this is software that comprises of rules and strategies to manage search engine keyword bid prices. They invariable operate using an API access key with the search engine. There are many forms of software available on the market today.
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Definition of Bidding -Bidding

Bidding is the process that ones uses to modify the cost per click on a search engine. This can be done manually or using Bid Management Software
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Definition of Blog -Blog

A Blog is a web site. where entries are written in chronological order and displayed in reverse chronological order. Blogs provide commentary or news on a particular subject such as food, politics, or local news; some function as more personal online diaries.
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Definition of Bounce Rate -Bounce Rate

The Bounce Rate of a web site, is the percentage of people who enter your site and leave before viewing any other page than the entry page on your site. It is a good guage of how people interact with the entry page of your site for a given search term.
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Definition of Bounty -Bounty

Bounty is a term commonly associated with affiliates and affiliate programs. It is essentially another word for commission.
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Definition of BPF -BPF

BPF see Best Practice Funding
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Definition of a Browser -Browser

A Browser is the tool which internet user use to browse the internet. Internet Explorer is the most common, others include Firefox, Netscape and Safari.
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Definition of C2A -C2A

C2A - Clicks to Actions is a conversion rate metric. Generally represented as a % it is the number of actions divided by the number of clicks to achieve those actions. 5 Action, 100 Clicks would give me a 5% C2A%.
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Definition of C2S -C2S

C2S - Clicks to Sales is a conversion rate metric. Generally represented as a % it is the number of sales divided by the number of clicks to achieve those sales. 5 Sales, 100 Clicks would give me a 5% C2S%.
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Definition of Caching -Caching

Caching - When a web page loads in a browser files such as images and CSS are downloaded to your computer's Temporary Internet Files. They store here or 'Cache' here so when you return to the site the page can load directly from your system. This is called Caching, to clear your cache will remove these temporarily internet files.
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Definition of a Campaign -Campaign

A Campaign is the term given to a marketing initiative. Your could have an ongoing campaign or a time constrained campaign. Each campaign would have its own goals and targets.
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Definition of CGI -CGI

CGI - Common Gateway Interface ( CGI ) is a standard protocol for interfacing external application software with an information server, usually a web server. This allows the server to pass requests from a client web browser to the external application. The web server can then return the output from the application to the web browser.
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Definition of Clicks -Clicks

A Click is the term used for when a prospective customer clicks on your link, ad or banner .
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Definition of Click Fraud -Click Fraud

Click Fraud is term used to describe malicious clicks on Paid Results in search engines. Often the realm of bitter competitors or sentinel software programs the search engines have very sophisticated methods of detecting and eradicating the threat.
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Definition of Client Side -Client Side

Client Side programmed actions that occur on the users systems. The opposite to Server Side
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Definition of Commission -Commission

Commission is the payout given to 3rd party promotion agents be them them affiliates or an SEM agency. See also Bounty.
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Definition of a Confirmation Page -Confirmation Page

The Confirmation Page is the page that spawns after a user has performed an action or sale. It spawns to confirm the completion of that action or sale. Often a page used by tracking tools.
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Definition of Content -Content

Content is king! Content is the meat to your web site. it is the unique information that you give to the world through your web site. It is often the key to a successful SEO program.
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Definition of a Conv. Rate  -Conv. Rate

Conv. Rate - the conversion rate is the rate at which actions or sales occur vs the volume of visitors/customers. For example if you get 10 customers and 1 sale your conversion rate is 10%. See also C2S or C2A.
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Definition of Conversion -Conversion

A Conversion is a defined action which has inherent value to the web site. owner. Examples would be a completed sale or completed application.
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Definition of a Conversion Page -Conversion Page

The Conversion Page is the page that performs and completes the conversion.
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Definition of Conversion Point -Conversion Point

Conversion Point is the point at which a conversion occurs.
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Definition of a Conversion Rate -Conversion Rate

Conversion Rate see Conv. Rate
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Definition of Cookie -Cookie

HTTP Cookies, sometimes known as web cookies or just cookies, are parcels of text sent by a server to a web browser and then sent back unchanged by the browser each time it accesses that server. HTTP cookies are used for authenticating, tracking, and maintaining specific information about users, such as site preferences and the contents of their electronic shopping carts.
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Definition of a COS -COS

COS - cost of sale is a measurement of success in marketing. It is essentially the reverse of ROI. It is calculated as a percentage buy dividing the total expenditure buy the total revenue. For example if I spend a £1 and make £5 my cost of sale would be 1 / 5 therefore 20%.
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Definition of Cost Per Conversion -Cost/Conv.

Cost/Conv. Cost per conversion is a simple metric identical to CPS or CPA. It is the total cost divided by the total number of sales. Example: If I spent £50 and I get 5 conversions my Cost/Conversion is £10 (£50 / 5).
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Definition of a CPA -CPA

CPA - Cost per Acquisition or Action. This is the same metric as cost per conversion but relating solely to actions.
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Definition of CPC -CPC

CPC - Cost Per Click. This is the cost paid out for each click purchased. It can be calculated by dividing the total cost by the total number of clicks to give you a CPC. Example: If i spend £10 and have 10 clicks my CPC is £1/click
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Definition of a CPM -CPM

CPM - Cost Per 1000 impressions - CPM is a method of charging for advertising based on impressions rather than clicks. CPM is a cost per 1000 impressions. Example: I spend £10 and received 5000 impressions my CPM would be £2.00 (£10 / (5000 impressions / 1000 impressions).
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Definition of CPS -CPS

CPS - Cost per Sale. This is the same metric as cost per conversion but relating solely to sales.
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Definition of CRM -CRM

CRM - Customer Relationship Management
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Definition of CSS -CSS

CSS - Cascading Style Sheets - This is a primary method of formatting and glamming up a web page. The style sheets control all of the fonts, images and locations of items as they load on a page.
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Definition of a CTR -CTR

CTR - Click through Rate - The CTR is determined by the number of times you ad has been seen vs the number of times it has been clicked on. Example: My ad has had 10 impressions 1 click, my CTR therefore is 10% (1/10x100%)
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Definition of Day Parting -Day Parting

Day Parting is a term associated with a bidding technique. It is the setting of bids to correspond to optimal times in the day. For example: I know that my customers mostly buy at lunch time, so in order to capture as many people as I can at lunch time I day part and up my bids at lunch time.
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Definition of Deep Linking -Deep Linking

Deep Linking is the linking of ad texts or keywords to the best page in your web site. For example: If you sell garden equipment and someone searches for a 'hoe' if you just send them to the home page that is not deep linked. A deep link would be linking that keyword directly to your page with hoes on it.
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Definition of DH -DH

DH see direct hit
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Definition of a Direct Hit -Direct Hit

A Direct Hit is a user that hits your site directly and not via any other referring source. An example would be for me to type into a browser the domain name and click go. That would be classed as a direct hit.
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Definition of DMOZ -DMOZ

DMOZ is the 'Open Directory Project' the largest, most comprehensive human-edited directory of the Web. It is constructed and maintained by a vast, global community of volunteer editors.
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Definition of a DNS -DNS

The Domain Name System (DNS) associates various sorts of information with so-called domain names; most importantly, it serves as the "phone book" for the Internet: it translates human-readable computer host names, e.g. www.netegg.co.uk, into the IP addresses that networking equipment needs for delivering information. It also stores other information such as the list of mail exchange servers that accept e-mail for a given domain.
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Definition of Domain -Domain

A Domain is the human readable format of a web site. address. For example www.netegg.co.uk that is our domain address.
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Definition of a Drop Off Rate -Drop Off Rate

Drop Off Rate is calculated by looking at the number of people who leave the web site. whilst moving through the sales process. Each stage users will drop and this is classed as the drop off rate. A high DOR is not good!
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Definition of Drop Out Rate -Drop Out Rate

Drop Out Rate another name for Drop off Rate.
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Definition of an EPC -EPC

EPC - Earnings Per Click - This is a metric commonly associated with Affiliate programs. It is the value of sales generated by each click. For example: I have made £100 of sales from 200 clicks. My EPC would be £100 / 200 clicks which is £0.50epc.
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Definition of FAQ -FAQ

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Definition of a Favicon -Favicon

Favicon is a file type used for populating the browser address bar with a pretty branded image.
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Definition of FFA -FFA

FFA - Free For All link page is a web page where any webmaster can post a link with a description.
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Definition of Macromedia Flash -Flash

Macromedia Flash is a graphic editing suite that allows you to create images and movie clips. You can publish to HTML, SWF, JPEG or GIF formats.
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Definition of a Form -Form

A Form is a interactive part of a web page whereby a user can submit to the site information to be stored or used by the site.
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Definition of Forum -Forum

A Forum is a community based web site. similar to a blog where users can express opinions and share ideas about anything.
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Definition of Frames -Frames

Using Frames is a method of web page construction. It allows the webmaster to have one control frame which stays constant, within this is feed in secondary content pages within the master frame.
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Definition of GAP -GAP

GAP - Google Advertising Professional - An industry standard exam for anyone within the world of PPC, an absolute must for any reseller of Google's products.
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Definition of a GIF -GIF

GIF - Graphics Interchange Format is an 8-bit-per-pixel bitmap image format. Introduced by CompuServe in 1987 has now come into widespread usage on the World Wide Web due to its wide support and portability.
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Definition of Google -Google

Google was co-founded by Larry Page and Sergey Brin in 1996. Based in Mountain View, California Google are widely regarded as the largest PPC Search Engine within the UK. Their offering is ever increasing with the option of Banner, Mobile, Radio and more Multimedia methods of advertising it is safe to say that Google are at the forefront of web marketing solutions.
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Definition of Goto.com -Goto.com

Goto.com are regarded as the inventors of PPC in 1998. Renamed as Overture in 2001 they supplied portals such as MSN, Yahoo!, Altavista and others with their search result content. In 2003 Overture was acquired by Yahoo! which latter rename Y!SM or Yahoo Search Marketing.
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Definition of Hit -Hit

Every time a user enters your site from an external source is regards as a hit.
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Definition of HTML -HTML

HTML - Hypertext Markup Language - is the basic language predominantly used for the creation of web pages. It provides a means to describe the structure of text-based information in a document - by denoting certain text as headings, paragraphs, lists, and so on - and supplement that text with interactive forms, embedded images, and other objects.
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Definition of HTTP -HTTP

HTTP - Hypertext Transfer Protocol is a communications protocol used to convey or transfer information on the World Wide Web .
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Definition of Impressions -Impressions

Impressions every time an ad text or ad image is called upon to be displayed on a page, it is classed as an impression.
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Definition of Inbound Link -Inbound Link

An Inbound Link or IBL is a external link that links into your web site. Commonly used in SEO, inbound links can vastly improve your sites standing on the web.
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Definition of Interstitial -Interstitial

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Definition of IP -IP

IP is a data-oriented protocol used for communicating data across a packet-switched inter-network. IP provides the service of communicable unique global addressing amongst computers.
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Definition of an IP Address -IP Address

IP Address (Internet Protocol address) is a unique address that certain electronic devices use in order to identify and communicate with each other on a computer network utilising the Internet Protocol standard (IP), in simpler terms, a computer address. Any participating network device including routers, computers, time-servers, printers, Internet fax machines, and some telephones can have their own unique IP address.
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Definition of ISP -ISP

ISP internet service provider is a company that provides internet access to the user.<Top of the Page>

Definition of a JPEG -JPEG

JPEG is a standardised method of image of photograph compression form by the Joint Photographic Experts Group hence the name JPEG.
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Definition of Keyword -Keyword

Keyword is the name associated with the search phrase used to trigger search results on a search engine. It is also a term that describes the key phrases or terms about a business, service or product.
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Definition of Keyword Density -Keyword Density

Keyword Density is the density level of a particular keyword's presence on a web page. For example if there are 10 keywords within a page and one particular keyword appears twice and the other word are different. The keyword that appears twice would be given a keyword density of 20% (2 in 10). Keyword density is an important factor for search engine ranking of web page content. Too high or too low a density will have a negative effect on search results.
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Definition of Landing Page -Landing Page

Landing Page is the page that appears when a user clicks through a link.
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Definition of Lead -Lead

A Lead is when a prospective customer makes contact with a business to enquire about products and services. A Lead can either be generate online through an email or form or over the telephone.
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Definition of Leader Board -Leader Board

Leader Board is a standardised image size for a advertising banner (728 pixels by 90 pixels)
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Definition of a Link Checker -Link Checker

Link Checker a sentinel program designer to check links for content or to see if they are still active.
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Definition of Links -Links

A Links primarily using a URL is the coded link between one web page and another. Standard links are text, graphics and movies but they can take many other forms.
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Definition of Logs -Logs

Logs - every time an action is performed on a web site, be it a page view, an image load or a file request the server that hosts that web site creates a log of that action.
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Definition of Masked a Auction -Masked Auction

A Masked Auction is a search engine keyword auction whereby you cannot see your competitors bid prices or positions. You also cannot categorically position your ad text within the search results as that is determined by the search engine's algorithm.
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Definition of a Merchant -Merchant

A Merchant is a term commonly used in Affiliate Marketing to describe the business that wishes to be affiliated too.
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Definition of Meta Tag -Meta Tag

META Tag (Meta elements) are HTML elements used to provide structured meta data about a web page. These elements must be placed as tags in the head section of an HTML document. They include the description and keywords used to describe a web page, but there are also other forms.
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Definition of Mod Rewrite -Mod Rewrite

Mod Rewrite is a method of rewriting a dynamic URL as a static URL. This is commonly done for SEO purposes to improve the pages navigation for spiders.
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Definition of Moderator -Moderator

Moderator is an individual that moderates the the content of a blog or forum.
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Definition of Mousetrapping -Mouse trapping

Mouse trapping is a method of disabling the browser back button to try and trap a user on your web site.
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Definition of MPEG -MPEG

MPEG is a standardised video encoding and compression technique developed by the Moving Picture Experts Group hence the name.
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Definition of MSN -MSN

MSN short for Microsoft Network is a collection of Internet services provided by Microsoft. Initially released on August 24, 1995, to coincide with the release of their operation system Windows 95. The MSN AdCenter is their Pay Per Click service.
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Definition of Netiquette -Netiquette

Netiquette is the abbreviated term for net etiquette, a catch-all term for the conventions of politeness online.
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Definition of Opt In Marketing -Opt In Marketing

Opt In Marketing is the marketing to people who voluntarily opt into the marketing program. If taking details of a customer in order to marketing to them later down the line they must be given the option to opt in or out. By opting in they allow themselves to be marketed to by the company and its partners.
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Definition of Order -Order

Order is the term used for an AD Group within the MSN Adcenter.
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Definition of Outboud Link -Outbound Link

Outbound Link is the opposite to an inbound link. It is a URL link embedded in your web sites page that links out to an external site.
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Definition of Overdelivery -Over delivery

Over delivery is the term used to describe Google's over delivery of clicks. Within AdWords it is possible to set a daily budget. The Adwords system can in fact spend up to 20% over that budget, this is called the over delivery.
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Definition of Overture -Overture

Overture is the search engine the spawned form Goto.com it was purchased by Yahoo! and is now the Yahoo Search marketing system.
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Definition of Page Rank -Page Rank

Page Rank is a term used by Google to display the importance of a page on the web. A high page rank would be 10 a low one 0.
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Definition of Page Views -Page Views

A Page View is every time a page is called upon to be displayed within a browser.
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Definition of Peretos Law -Peretos Law

Peretos Law that 20% of your business or processes does 80% of the productivity. A common PPC analogy that 20% of you keywords will do 80% of the revenue.
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Definition of PFI -PFI

Pay For Inclusion (PFI) is paying to have web pages included in a search engine's database and regularly updated.
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Definition of PFP -PFP

PFP pay for performance, a payment model whereby you only pay for the results generated.
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Definition of PHP -PHP

PHP is a reflective programming language originally designed for producing dynamic web pages. PHP is used mainly in server-side scripting , but can be used from a command line interface or in standalone graphical applications.
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Definition of Pixel Image -Pixel Image

A Pixel Image is a common method of tracking used today. In the same way an image is called and placed into web page the single pixel image does the same thing, but rather than embedding an image it has encoded within the image the relevant tracked information. It is usually generated in a 1x1 pixel format and is completely invisible on the page.
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Definition of Pop Under -Pop Under

Pop Under is a marketing pop up window that pops up underneath the browser window you are currently viewing.
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Definition of Pop-Up -Pop-Up

Pop-Up is a marketing pop up window that pops up over the top of the browser window you are currently viewing.
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Definition of PPA -PPA

Pay per action (PPA) is a marketing payment method whereby you only pay for completed actions.
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Definition of PPC -PPC

PPC Pay Per Click is a method of internet advertising where the advertiser only pays when their advert is clicked on hence pay per click.
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Definition of PPI -PPI

Pay per impression (PPI) is a method of internet advertising where the advertiser pays whenever their advert is spawned within a web page.
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Definition of PPL -PPL

Pay per lead (PPL) is a marketing payment method whereby you only pay for completed leads.
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Definition of PPS -PPS

Pay per sale (PPS) is a marketing payment method whereby you only pay for completed sale.
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Definition of PR -PR

PR is the abbreviated term for page rank.
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Definition of Product Id -Product Id

A Product Id is a unique identifying code for a product.
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Definition of QS -QS

QS the abbreviation of Quality Score, is the score attributed to the quality of your ad text in Google AdWords. It is determined by a number of factors such as CTR, landing page quality and ad text quality.
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Definition of Quality Score -Quality Score

Quality Score see QS
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Definition of Reciprocal Links -Reciprocal Links

Reciprocal Links are links that are reciprocated between you and another site. i.e. you have a link on your site pointing to a partner site and the partner site has a reciprocal link pointing back to yours.
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Definition of a Referrer -Referrer

Referrer is the source of the referring traffic. For example if you search on Google for a bookshop and click on the top link to a bookshop. You enter the bookshop site and your referrer would of been Google as that is what lead you to that site.
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Definition of Return On Advertising Spend -Return On Advertising Spend

Return On Advertising Spend or (ROAS) is a measure of return and campaign success. It is calculated as a percentage by dividing your revenue by your cost multiplied by 100%. For example my campaign cost was £10 my revenue was £100 therefore the ROAS of the campaign would be 100/10*100% therefore 1000% ROAS.
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Definition of Return On Investment -Return On Investment

Return On Investment or (ROI) is a measure of return and campaign success. It is calculated as a percentage by dividing your profit by your cost multiplied by 100%. For example my campaign cost was £10 my revenue was £100 therefore the ROI of the campaign would be - (revenue-cost)/cost*100% - (100-10)/10*100% therefore 900% ROI.
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Definition of ROAS -ROAS

ROAS see Return On Advertising Spend.
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Definition of ROI -ROI

ROI see Return On Investment.
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Definition of RON -RON

RON - Run Of the Network is when your ads are rotated and displayed across an entire advertising network for a period of time.
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Definition of ROS -ROS

ROS - Run Of a Site is when your ads are rotated and displayed across all the pages of a web site for a period of time.
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Definition of Sales -Sales

A Sale is class of action whereby a customer has exchanged money with the advertiser for products and services.
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Definition of Sale Id -Sale Id

Sale Id is a unique identifying code generated at point of sale relating to that sale on the web site.
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Definition of SE -SE

SE is the abbreviated term for Search Engine.
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Definition of SEM -SEM

SEM is the abbreviation of search engine marketing or marketers.
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Definition of Search Engine -Search Engine

A Search Engine is a portal or web site whereby a user can initiate a query through a keyword or phrase to find relevant web sites on the internet associated with the keyword used. Example of search engines are Google, Yahoo and MSN.
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Definition of Search Term -Search Term

Search Term is another term for keyword.
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Definition of SEO -SEO

SEO - search engine optimisation is the process of web site optimisation to get the web site to appear higher up search engine rankings for particular keywords and phrases.
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Definition of SEP -SEP

SEP Search Engine Positioning - the process of getting your page listed on the search engine results page. Similar to SEO.
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Definition of SERP -SERP

SERP - Search Engine Results Page, after a user has initiated a search query for something on a search engine, the SERP is the resultant web page that appears carrying the results of the search query.
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Definition of Server -Server

Server - a server is a computer that is on all the time and linked to the world wide web. It is the store for web site files which we access from the internet. In other words the server is a dedicated computer that hosts web sites.
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Definition of Server Side -Server Side

Server Side programmed actions that occurs on the server before a web page is spawned. The opposite to Client Side.
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Definition of Session -Session

A Session is the term associated with time spent traveling around a web site. As soon as a user enters a web site. it triggers a session as soon as the user again leaves the web site it closes the session. A session will store all of the users actions while they were on the web site.
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Definition of Session Id -Session Id

Session Id is the unique identifier associated with a session.
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Definition of Session Tracking -Session Tracking

Session Tracking is a method of tracking users activity on your web site using the session.
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Definition of Shopping Cart -Shopping Cart

Shopping Cart is the software that drives the sales process of the site. It is like a virtual shopping trolley which users can add and remove products to, and then proceed to checkout to purchase.
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Definition of Shopping Cart Abandonment -Shopping Cart Abandonment

Shopping Cart Abandonment is the epidemic of users dropping off the web site whilst going through the processes of shopping cart.
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Definition of Shopping Engine -Shopping Engine

Shopping Engines are similar to search engines accept rather than searching through web sites to generate results they search through multiple product feeds to generate results. They work on a Pay Per Click basis where advertisers can submit their product feeds. Invariable shopping engine sites have a product comparison feel to them.
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Definition of Skyscraper -Skyscraper

Skyscraper an online ad significantly taller than the 120x240 vertical banner
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Definition of Source Code -Source Code

Source Code is the raw html coding of a web page.
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Definition of Splash Page -Splash Page

Splash Page is a page that loads up before you enter the main site. They often have flash content on them which users have the option to skip.
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Definition of Split Testing -Split Testing

Split Testing is the means of testing different ad text by dual serving them and monitoring the results.
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Definition of a Spider -Spider

Spider is a term given to the programmed bot of search engines used to crawl the web extracting information about the the web sites.
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Definition of SSI -SSI

SSI is a Server Side Include, it is code that is included into the web page when it is spawned by the server.
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Definition of Super Affiliate -Super Affiliate

Super Affiliate is an affiliate that drives extreme volumes of traffic and sales.
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Definition of SWF -SWF

SWF is a movie file which has been created using Macromedia Flash.
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Definition of The Fold -The Fold

The Fold is line at the bottom of the screen when a web page loads. 'Above the fold' is what the user can see upon loading, 'below the fold' is what the user sees if they scroll down the page.
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Definition of Tracking -Tracking

Tracking is the name given to the monitoring of a web site. or of the successfulness of a marketing campaign. There are many levels of tracking and many types of tracking software.
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Definition of Traffic -Traffic

Traffic is the term used to describe the overall number of users coming through your web site. Lots of traffic would be 1000's of hits a day, small amounts of traffic would be a couple of hits a day.
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Definition of Unique Visitor -Unique Visitor

Unique Visitor is a visitor to your web site that has never come before therefore being completely unique.
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Definition of URL -URL

Uniform Resource Locator (URL) is a technical, web-related term used for the physical address of a web page or web site on the world wide web.
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Definition of Usability -Usability

Usability is the study of a web site. looking solely at the functionality of the site. How easy is it to navigate and find what you are looking for as well as in the case of e-commerce sites how easy is it to purchase.
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Definition of USP -USP

USP Unique Selling Point or Proposition is a marking term used to describe the key feature of a product or service.
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Definition of UV -UV

UV see unique visitor.
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Definition of Viral Marketing -Viral Marketing

Viral Marketing is a method of marketing that focuses on trying to spread the word about your product virally. E.g. I give something to 10 people, they give it to 10 more people, they give it to 10 more people, so on and so on.
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Definition of Visit -Visit

A Visit is when a user visits a web page, having 5 visits would mean 5 people had viewed your web page.
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Definition of W3C -W3C

W3C - the world wide web consortium - set down internationally recognised quality standard guidelines for the construction of web pages and web sites.
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Definition of WHOIS -WHOIS

WHOIS is a TCP-based query/response protocol which is widely used for querying a database in order to determine the owner of a domain name, an IP address , or an autonomous system number on the Internet .
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Definition of WWW -WWW

WWW the abbreviation of the world wide web otherwise known as the internet.
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Definition of Yahoo -Yahoo

Yahoo is a portal on the internet with one of the largest user bases online. They offer many services such as web mail as well as being one of the big 3 search engines with Google and MSN.
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Definition of YSM -YSM

YSM - Yahoo! Search Marketing is Yahoo's pay per click engine. Formally goto.com it was rename overture and then purchased by Yahoo in 2003.
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Definition of YSM Ambassador -YSM Ambassador

YSM Ambassador is a standard which SEM agencies must be apart of in the US if they are to resell YSM products and services. Requirements are the passing of a Yahoo exam and exceeding a score of 80%.
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Link to net egg the SEM experts!

Just copy and paste the code below to create a link to net egg:

net egg's little netegg

 

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